Goodbye


For reasons that I can’t go into, I am having to close this site for a while. I want to allow people to take and copy information that they might want or need from it and will open it up over the next few days but please do bear in mind that I’ll probably have to shut down again pretty soon.  I  had to go both here and from Twitter very quickly without an opportunity to say ‘Goodbye’ properly and I’m sorry for that. I am taking a risk by writing this but it’s something I felt I had to do and I ask any readers to try to understand that I had strong reasons behind it. I wouldn’t just ‘throw away’ over three and a half years of work easily or quickly without a reason.

I’d rather not ‘go’ like this to be honest but sometimes things happen and we don’t always have ways to ‘control’ them.

I hope I’ll be able to be back in some form.

Thanks everyone for your support over the years.

I’ll still be writing and ranting but just finding other places and I’m not precluding a return here either in the future but I don’t want to make any promises either.

It’s been a fantastic journey and I’ve really learnt a lot about the value and pains of social media, social networking and building links across sites and systems. It’s helped me so much and mostly it’s helped me grow as a professional. On the other hand, this experience has taught me a very useful new lesson to add to my potential opus about the way that systems, social media, anonymity and jealousies work in the world of ‘social media’ and ‘faceless communication’.

I’m thinking about working on an off-line project with a number of strands just because not-writing is more difficult than writing. One is a series of essays and examples of putting different social work theories into a practical context and explain with a lot of anonymised case studies how important theory is in informing the work I do both explicitly and implicitly and the other is a series of guides for social media and technology specifically in social care and social work.

Other projects (including this blog) remain on hold.

(If you want to get in contact, please feel free to use the ‘Contact Me’ button)

35 thoughts on “Goodbye

  1. Take care cb

    Reading between the lines it appears you may have been ‘discovered/outed’ – if so, it is a sad state of affairs that in a supposed democratic society we have to hide under anonymity.

    Again take care cb.

    Anna :o]

  2. Really sorry to hear you are off. I hope you are ok and wish you well. I haven’t posted, but regularly read your posts and encourage my fellow social workers to do so. You always make me think so bloody important..You are a bit boring though as I invariably agree with you :-)
    Anyway just wanted to thank you for all the excellent info and discussions you have began. Very Best Wishes and carry on the good work, Claire.

  3. I shall miss the breadth, depth and range of insights you have offered for such a long time. Good luck in all that you do, and hope to see you back in some form before too long.

  4. Sorry to hear you have to stop posting for now. Really enjoyed the blog- a shot in the arm sometimes- particularly your take on personalisation!(the field i work in) all the best for new endeavours and hope to come accross your writing somewhere else!

  5. Hi, I am sad to hear that you will not be continuing with your blog. I wanted to say thank you for your insightful, thought-provoking and challenging posts on social work and the wider role. I wish you well for your future projects.

  6. Sorry you are leaving. I did not agree with everything but you certainly made me think. Sorry you left BASW and I was pleased you got a response from Joe Devo; it may not have satisfied you but I believe it was very honest. Remember Community Care is not unbiased. You have tremendous energy and I hope you will take care of yourself.

    NCS

  7. Very sad to read this, your tweets in particular have been for me often a rescource not to mention thought provoking. I will say TTFN rather than goodbye
    Malcolm aka malicarr

  8. NO!!! This is awful news. I love reading your blogs and they have become an essential part of my week. I am also furious that someone has forced you to take the decision to end the posts. I hope that you will be back. And will you still be on twitter?

    All the best – Lisa

  9. Very sorry to hear this. I learnt a lot from you, and from the discussions your musings provoked

  10. I’m so sorry it has come to this. Curses on those that have made it so. Do take care of yourself and your sweetie (who, I am sure is helping you through this). Look forward to “running into you” elsewhere. Please feel free to keep in contact through my email.

    And thank you for “closing” the blog, as opposed to just disappearing!

    We’ll miss you.

    Carolyn

  11. I’ll miss your writing but hope that things in your life are good and that I’ll find you somewhere someday.

  12. Thanks for all the useful posts and blogs over the last year. its been the first blog I have looked for every morning. I will miss the detail and passion of your arguments. Thanks for all and all the best in the future :-)

  13. Hello CB

    I think you’ve got at least one book in you (probably more) and I think you’d do a better job as a pundit and commentator than most of the so-called experts and half baked think-tankers who parade their ignorance on the Today programme and in what used to be called the quality press when social care topics are aired.

    Much of your work actually comments on things in the news and general issues from a practitioner perspective (I don’t think it’s a secret that Southern Cross has had a few problems?) so I can’t think of any reason (at least any reason that does not impy some jobsworth jack-in-office inappropriately attempting to infringe your personal rights and freedom to express yourself as a citizen in ways that could easily rebound on them as being an authoritarian bully) so I hope you will maintain your public commentary in some shape or form.

    Hope you can give us a hint as to where your new stuff might be found.

    Very best wishes with whatever comes next. Please accept my thanks and those of other posters as being entirely sincere and more representative of the online social work community.

    Guilsfield

  14. Hello Monstertalk,

    It goes without saying that I (and many others) will miss the blog. It’s become a fixture of my week, and I look forward to the day you return to the bloggosphere/twittersphere.

    I want to thank you. Thank you for writing such insightful and well considered posts. Thank you for bringing social care issues to life. Thank you for championing social work values on the ground at a time when they can be hard to see from the distance of academic research.

    Good luck with the next project, and keep in touch. L
    (any time to you want to guest post on human rights…)

  15. Really sorry to hear that you’re having to close the site down. In my opinion social work and social care in general badly needs people who are willing to engage in intelligent and constructive debate.Your writing has always been eloquent, thoughtful and nothing short of brilliant. your support has also meant a lot to me – in fact I remember you persuading me to stay on my MSc which I’m just now completing.

    Thank you and best of luck.

    Neil

  16. Hi cb,

    I’m sorry to see what is the best social work blog on the net going. I’m not sure what’s provoked it, but like the others I suspect some jobsworth is probably breathing down your neck about it. But I’m not going to say goodbye to you just yet. Other bloggers like Jobbing Doctor and Dr Grumble have had to down tools for a while and then come back. It maybe that what you are facing just now, is not as grim as you think. Some people are very good at threatening, but would actually be very hard pushed to actually carry it out, because the pretext on which they’re doing it is too flimsy. Take a space just now and then see where you stand. I think you owe it to yourself not to give up too easily on this and we are all going to lose a very valuable voice if you step down for good. I hope you’re bearing up and I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet and add the link for kittenwar to my own site..

  17. This is a loss of such an excellent resource for social work and beyond. I very much hope you are OK, cb, and echo the thanks for not just disappearing and leaving us all to worry.

  18. Your blog was so important to free thinking and free debate. So much of what we see/hear in the media is sanitised and compromised by other factors. You spoke as you saw it and brought light and focus where others have failed.

    I’m missing your contributions already and yearn for you and/or others to pick up the challenge.

    So much is broken and needs loving attention to bring healing and restoration.

    Our thoughts are with you….

  19. Hi cb,

    I was just thinking about how much I miss you, your tweets and your blog, and then I saw that you had written a good-bye post…

    You were and are one of a kind…

    Wishing you all the best on your new journey and hope that you will return one of these days,
    Best,
    Dorlee

  20. To the prolific Fighting Monsters,
    I have been astounded by your ability to keep on top of the detail of the policy agenda while working as a front-line social worker. Your distribution of that knowledge to the social work community has been invaluable – which is all credit to you, but an indictment of the profession at the same time. Why is it so rare to find this mix of practitioner and policy-commentator in social work? How many of your colleagues are remotely as in touch with the national picture as you are..? Such is the burden of being a practitioner that, from my experience of being one, few have the time, energy or enthusiasm to keep up with much of the detail and politics of broader social care policy. And the result? Very poor links between practitioners, academia, policy-makers in social care. You’re clearly quite an extraordinary individual. Well done, and i have no doubt your writing – and the profile you have established – will take you far.
    Best wishes,

    Catherine

  21. You are the truth. Why are they silencing you? Just when I have told my fellow carers to read your excellent blogs. You are like a breath of fresh air in a foggy PR driven underhanded world of social care policy makers. Please come back again. We need you.

  22. Pingback: This Week in Mentalists – Salty Veruccas Edition « This Week in Mentalists

  23. Drat! wish Id found your blog before. I hope you do keep doing this or something like it, will miss yr stuff popping up !
    Best Wishes anyway.

  24. I am a bit late to this, as last time I checked your blog was set to private, and so I only just saw this entry. I just wanted to say how much I will miss you – both on Twitter, and reading your blog entries. I know I haven’t been around as much in blogland lately, but I have still been reading all your posts, and I will miss them, and of course chats on twitter too. Who will I talk to next time I have a sleepless patch and it is 6am and everyone else has gone to bed and you are the only person who has got up?! In all seriousness though, you will be missed, and I am so sorry that you have had to stop blogging. It would be great to stay in touch if you have another twitter account or something, but of course I understand if you need to protect your anonymity. Bip xxx

  25. Canadian here…

    Thanks for your posts. Very insightful, and much appreciated.

    I hope you are not in any trouble. You provided invaluable perspective into modern society, and your courageousness and clarity should be lauded, not punished.

    Best of luck in all your future endeavours.

  26. Thank you so much for your posts, tweets, kitten pics and helping me get to grips with Twitter when I first forayed on there. I found all invaluable-not only to my practice but also on occasion my sanity! It greatly reassured me that there were such measured, reflective (and prolific!) Practitioners out there such as yourself with the energy to not only serve and help your service users, but all your readers too. You’ll be greatly missed and I sincerely hope you’ll be back soon (I’m not above trying to lure you with promises of more kitten pics!)

    Take care, Hannah

  27. I will miss this blog. I always recommended your blog to new soc work students and we will all miss the thoughtful discussions. Good luck for the future and thanks.

Comments are closed.