Eastenders!


Community Care’s Social Work Blog discusses the throwback of the Bianca Jackson storyline in Eastenders, where her children were put into care by Social Services because she was homeless (due to non-payment of rent).

Honestly, I was annoyed when I saw this on TV as I thought of the countless work that goes by, similarly to the writer from Community Care and yet, it is the child-snatching stereotype of middle class Social Workers that is wheeled out yet again.

I never really understood why the difference between the public perception of nurses as ‘angels’ and Social Workers as interfering busybodies came in. Especially considering some of the nurses I have known and worked with! Perhaps we are all at risk of being unwell – but very few from their cosy positions, want to, or want to consider having involvement with social workers or social care.