Twelve for the Glorious Twelfth


In recognition (note – not celebration) of the Glorious Twelfth which is traditionally the start of the grouse hunting season, I give you, twelve bloggers whose posts   have caught my attention recently and that  I haven’t been able to fit in anywhere else! I haven’t been very good at linking to other writers rather than newspaper articles so a mild attempt to remedy.

image clairity at Flickr

And so, in no particular order

Anti-social Social Worker (what a great nomenclature) writes about Social Work as Counterculture and includes a Part Two

Awake and Dreaming discusses ways that clients of her service could carry out performance evaluations and seeks a further progression of the idea here

therapydoc at Everyone Needs Therapy writes about both The importance of boundaries in professional relationships and the importance of flexibility.

Reas Kroicowl  (I know it’s a pseudonym but I’d love to know someone with a name like that actually existed – a lot more creative than my random initials!) at Trench Warfare asks medical professionals (and everyone else really) to be aware of the impact that their judgements can have on tweens.

Prin on her site, Prin’s Links for Social Work Students, alongside providing endless resource links and blog tweaks, shares her dreams and reminds us of the importance to pursue those we have.

Alicia at Mental Health Notes draws attention to mental health in China in a timely fashion and also gives an interview at Mental Health Humor (I know, I  had to pause on the spelling there – there seems to be a ‘u’ missing but I’ll respect the original – for once!).

Mad World picks up on a story about how what music you listen to can relate to possible mental health problems that you might have.. .. . .

Cellar Door at Not another Nursing Student Blog explains about working with her husband in the same hospital along with some of the positives and negatives

Blue Jean Social Work has a wonderful analysis of the development of the social worker, from fresh and eager to wise and experienced (via jaded… but out the other end again!). She also shares some of the tools she uses in family therapy settings.

Zarathustra at Mental Nurse debates the value of the value of nursing as a university discipline here and the discussion that follows is definitely worth a read!

The Social Work Blog shares some unusual social work tales from the US however also highlights a more serious tale from Philadelphia where seven social workers have been suspended following accusations of negligence

And Illusive Joy in her self-directed search for joy explains that social work in a prison setting can lead to a greater understanding of the human condition.

Do let me know if you like the ’round up’ type posts. I haven’t done any before (and this took a lot longer than it probably looks like it did – mostly because I had a lot more links I could use!).

7 thoughts on “Twelve for the Glorious Twelfth

  1. Hey, thanks for the mention! 🙂 I like the round up posts, it’s a good way of finding other peoples interesting stuff that you might otherwise miss…

  2. Very cool post! And I do appreciate how long is must have taken. It’s not easy to format all that. I can’t wait for some free time to go over some of the blogs that I haven’t heard of yet.

  3. hmmm….thought I posted earlier. I love the round up for the reasons mentioned above. Thanks for the effort and for the nod!

  4. Thanks for that, all! I may well try and make it a weekly occurrence but refuse to commit myself to anything at this stage 🙂

  5. cb, I do like the updates on what others are doing, and you do such a nice job of picking out highlights. Of course it is nice to be mentioned as well. Thanks for that. So, yes, I am a fan of the roundup, though I feel bad that I spend a little less time online than others in this circle and cannot always reciprocate in giving attention and credit where it is due.

  6. That’s just marvelous. I’ll link back to you in the August Back Acha at the end of August or the beginning or September, which ever comes first.

Comments are closed.