Lest We Forget


Yesterday was World Alzheimer’s Day. Events around the world were held to raise awareness about Alzheimer’s Disease and it’s impact. Some countries are holding study days, others picnics and walks. Different ways of drawing attention to the disease and pushing it into the public consciousness.

I know I am a day late but I thought I’d recognise it by sharing some of the links that I have collected that are related to Alzheimer’s. Some are personal blogs, others are resource or research blogs. Some sites that share information, others that share news.

Hopefully there will be something among them that will prove useful. I know I have found them helpful, personally.  There are many more resources ‘out there’ and I make no attempt at comprehensiveness!

Some don’t fit neatly into my categories so there is some wiggle room there.

image *Micky at Flickr

Personal Blogs

Alzheimer’s Team

Fading From Memory

Wit’s End

Monday’s with Mother – An Alzheimer’s Story

As We Lived Before

Resource/Information Blogs

Forget Memory

Al(t)zheimer’s

The Myth of Alzheimer’s

The Tangled Neuron

Alzheimer’s Notes

Mothering Mother and More

Resource Sites

Alzheimer’s Society

Alzheimer’s Research Trust

Fisher Centre for Alzheimer’s Research Foundation

Alzheimer’s Association

I’m sure that there’s a wealth of information ‘out there’ that I have missed and if anyone has any suggestions, I’d welcome them. Of course, it is important to remember that Alzheimer’s is one kind of dementia – but it is by far the best known.

Alzheimer’s Disease International has developed a charter to promote the awareness of Alzheimer’s worldwide. Go and sign – it doesn’t take long! They have also released a short film to accompany it.

 

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Dylan Thomas – Do not go gentle into that good night

7 thoughts on “Lest We Forget

  1. Thank you so much for recognising my blog in your list. I’m very pleased to hear that you found it helpful.

    And thank you for the other links, which I intend to explore.

    Greg

  2. Pleasure, Greg. I’ve very much enjoyed reading your blog – even though I’ve not said very much (anything!).

  3. What a great list of resources about Alzheimer’s. You’ve done a super job of compiling these. I’m pleased you wanted to include my blog, Alzheimer’s Notes.

  4. Pingback: Super List of Alzheimer’s Resources

  5. Thanks, Mary. I enjoy the site you have even if I am – like with Greg’s, something of a lurker!

Comments are closed.