9 thoughts on “Death of the ASW

  1. Thanks! I know I shouldn’t be excited about birthdays but I can’t help it 🙂 And I think we are pretty sceptical about the papers – seeing as they really have left it as late as the possibly could!

  2. Happy Birthday! (I’d sing, but really, it’s your birthday I don’t want to make you cry!)

    Lola x

  3. How did I miss your birthday??? I obviously missed a post.

    Happy BELATED!!! I shant sing either, because my singing’s worse than Lola’s. I promise. It will penetrate your tone deafness.

    So, is your degree in Social work but the state now calls you something else? We have two distinctions in my state: LCSW (Licensed Clinical Social Worker) which requires a degree and certification in social work and MHP (Mental Health Professional) which requires a degree in something plus a special training. LCSWs are MHPs, but not necessarily the other way around.

  4. As I said before, Reas, I’m not very subtle 😉
    And basically the degree (Masters at least, my BA is in something completely different!) is in Social Work and that means that I can be registered as a Social Worker.
    Then, to be an Approved Social Worker (or as it is now,

    Mental Health Professional) you do another course (which I only completed earlier this year) that is at post-graduate level and up until today was only open to Social Workers and gives you certain additional powers legally related to compulsion and detention (i.e. in order to commit someone to hospital against their will, the application needs to be made by an Approved Mental Health Professional and a couple of doctors).

    So most Social Workers would not be Approved Mental Health Professionals – in fact, there is a massive shortage which is one of the main reasons they needed to move away from making the training exclusive to Social Workers.

Comments are closed.