Television


I saw ‘How Mad are You?’ last night. I’m going to reserve judgement until next week. It seemed a bit uncomfortable and I was trying to work out what the point of it was. Was it for entertainment? or to challenge stigma? Anyway, I’ll wait for the next part with some curiosity.

I also can’t fail to mention the case of Child P that has emerged across the press –  a 17 month boy who was subject to excessive abuse and was eventually killed within the family home –  even though thinking of it does chill me somewhat. This was a child that was well known to child protection services and alerts had been raised regarding his care. He was on the child protection register. He received frequent visits. I am sure there will be lots of explanations about ‘disguised compliance’ In fact, there are already.

The heart of the blame should lie with people who inflict such pain and suffering on others. The professionals need to be given the tools and skills with which to interpret the facts as they are presented. The support from a robust and confident management structure. The effects of a shortage of front-line staff has a cost.

I do find some irony though that the same papers that rant about social workers acting in an overzealous manner in removing children are exactly the same ones that are out to pillory the social workers who don’t act. That isn’t meant to be a defence, by the way. It is just somewhat galling.

I’m sure they’ll be more to look at here over the next few days, weeks and years where perhaps it is easier to look at the facts of the case and more importantly what can be done to inform and guide future practice.

I’m not saying it won’t happen again. People who have so much desire to kill, hurt and wound can often find ways round systems. The blame should not be shifted away from the perpetrators though.

5 thoughts on “Television

  1. Yes I wasslightly miffed by that television programme too, & likewise will try & tune in next week.I did try to find the Horizon website but for some unknown reason it isn’t updated regularly.
    As for the case of the baby, it’s scarey & sickening that human beings can inflict such cruelty.Odd though that is was in Haringey again what with the Victoria Climbie case there too.I’m not going to comment on the Social Services Team cos I don’t know the facts really.But sure can see getting that getting the balance right in Services is a tricky one .

  2. We haven’t heard about the baby over here. We have, however, heard about the 4 year old (I think four) that disappeared when on vacation with her parents and now her parents are suspects.

  3. I think everyone has heard my opinion on that so called documentary so i’ll pass on that comment!

    As for the baby, i think i want to pass on that too, what can you say to that? Nothing. Life is a complete mystery to me when things like that happen. I cannot even begin to imagine (nor would i want to) what was going on in the heads of those responsible.

  4. “I do find some irony though that the same papers that rant about social workers acting in an overzealous manner in removing children are exactly the same ones that are out to pillory the social workers who don’t act.”

    Yeah, isn’t that the truth. I guess my parents really did know everything. I can’t do anything right! :p

  5. Seratonin Sister – I think they have something on one of the BBC websites. I can’t remember where exactly.

    Reas – That was Madeleine McCann I think and her parents are no longer official suspects. They never did find her though.

    Lola – I know what you mean. I try to think about it and then have to move on. Some things are just so very disturbing about the whole thing.

    antiSWer – Awww.. I know the feeling though!

Comments are closed.