What is needed?


Ray Jones, Professor of Social Work at Kingston University, has written a piece in the Guardian’s Joe Public blog analysing what he feels is needed within Social Work.

He is far more knowledgeable and eloquent than I and I have to say, I found myself nodding away as I read the piece.

Rather than quote blocks of text and just intermittently writing ‘yes’ or ‘I agree’ or ‘good point’, I’ll let you go over there, read and decide!

Much more helpful than the ‘grass roots’ demonstration organised on Facebook that call for the sacking of ‘everyone who had anything to do with ‘Baby P” that took place in Central London yesterday.

I heard one of the organisers speaking on the radio and she seemed to want ‘action’. She wants a public enquiry.  She wants everyone sacked – without pay. She wants more action on sentencing (too lax) and child protection (too incompetent).

News has become a mawkish interest in the more gruesome details of the abuse that took place. The Facebook group in question has a diagram with the injuries that were inflicted on this child. Is that really necessary, I have to ask myself.

Nothing can take away the tragedy of the death of a child – yes, things weren’t done that should have been done, yes, lessons do need to be learnt. There were failings in a system. Will this ‘never happen again’? Unlikely.

People (including the MP of a neighbouring constituency) demonstrating on the streets to change child protection procedures and calling for the sacking of ‘everyone’ including front line workers.  I’m staggered.

And you know, for another reason, I’m REALLY glad I don’t work in Haringey.  Good luck to them in finding and keeping a decent workforce.

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 thoughts on “What is needed?

  1. Pingback: Mental Nurse · Lynchmobs on the march

  2. I have some sympathy with the views expressed but the major problem for social services lies in management regimes either unable or unwilling to fight for the integrity of their services and who are prepared to cowtow to central Government by signing up to and performing to meaningless performance criteria which appear more to doing with data ‘massaging’ rather than quality and availability of resources.

    In addition too many ‘managers’ are either unqualified to work and manage in social care and so cannot adequately deal with the management of their existing resources, let alone any ‘additional’ money.

  3. While not wanting to defend poor practice at any level – I think there should be more of a will to fight at management level and higher management level rather than pushing through new targets and criteria that can, at times, have little effect on final outcomes.
    We should be concerned about quality of service and quality of delivery of service to the exclusion of all else but it, as ever, needs money. There is a finite amount of resourcing but sometimes some of the choices made seem to make little logical sense.

Comments are closed.