Love


Just for Valentine’s Day, the Guardian print a story about a woman who fell in love aged 76.

Aged 76 and 77, we both felt like 16-year-olds embarking on our first relationship. When the phone rang, my heart would miss a beat.

Really heart-warming stuff.

And another story from The Times discussing whether love is form of mental illness..

Currently, scientists are having a genteel academic squabble over whether love most closely resembles the manic phase of bipolar disorder or the characteristics seen in obsessive compulsive disorder

So depending on your mood, take your pick!

image

8 thoughts on “Love

  1. Two articles I read with great interest, especially the 76 and 77 year olds in love – how lovely! The article about love being madness gave me some food for thought. I’m bemused by the idea that “People would not fall in love if they had not heard love talked about” – if this were true, where did the idea come from in the first place I wonder?

    Great blog by the way, I’ll be checking back to get more of your insights, and thanks for your comments on my blog too!

  2. Thanks MW! I was delighted to have found your blog too mostly because I can relate to a lot of what you say!

  3. Well, I’ve been bipolarly manic, and obsessively compulsive at times, and I’ve been in love too- and I’d only choose to repeat one of the three!!!
    Loved the article about the old romantics- warmed my heart, and renewed my fading hopes too! LOL!
    Thanks cb

  4. Yeah, I think the first one is definitely my favourite – the other one made me smile a bit too for the reasons that Seratonin Sister says – trust the scientists to overcomplicate!

  5. DeeDee – for some reason your comments were lost in my spam filter 😦 Sorry about that but it should be fine now!

Comments are closed.