World Social Work Day


Happy World Social Work Day! A day to celebrate the joy of social work – I had an idea for a post planned but couldn’t let this occasion pass so my thoughts about the letter received by every registered social worker in the UK on Friday will have to hold for another day – oh the suspense!

Hilton Dawson, the incoming Chief Executive of the British Association of Social Workers, a former MP, writes a piece in the Guardian celebrating Social Work with much more eloquence than I would be able to muster pre-work but without doubt it convinced me that today should be for positive thoughts.

image

I have said it before and I will again, just for effect – I’m incredibly proud to be a social worker. I might not shout out too loudly about in when out and about in public because I quite like my nose the shape it is already thank you very much, but when I look more globally at the work that is done and the work that I have been able to do, I’m very very proud.

It isn’t always easy – in fact, it rarely is. If it were easy, it would be boring. I have an opportunity and a window to walk with people through some of their most difficult moments and to convince, cajole and encourage them through it. Sometimes we make it out the other side, sometimes we don’t but at least by ensuring that there is a place to turn to, a number to ring, an ear to listen – it can make sense of some of the more troubling shots that fate plays with us.

Sometimes it isn’t about walking through scenarios with people, sometimes it is about making decisions for them or bursting into their flats with platoons of police officers to cuff them and assess their mental health. No, it isn’t fun. No, it isn’t rewarding. But thinking of the longer term – being years rather than weeks or months – it is something that is measured in degrees of the whole. Sometimes the decisions we make aren’t the ‘right’ ones. We work with risk. But we cannot afford to be afraid of risk.

I feel honoured to have the opportunity to share peoples’ lives. I see some of the pain that lingers behind the twitching net curtains. But I also see some of the hidden joys – some of the unexpected recoveries.

I qualified as a social worker in 2000. With about two years out where I had nothing whatsoever to do with anything related to social work, I have been working for almost 7 years in the post of a qualified social worker.

The most valuable things I have learned?

Clearly humility. You gain nothing by status and no-one goes into social work for the status, obviously. You cannot assume you know anyone better than the client and/or the carer who lives in that situation. Respect is a two-way street – you cannot and should never expect it unless you willingly give it. That obviously holds for users of services but it needs to hold equally for other professionals, care staff everyone with whom you have contact.

Advocacy – we learnt about the importance of advocacy and particularly self-advocacy as I was training. I have found myself most effective when I advocate for myself as well. We can dictate to our own managers what expectations should be made of us. What expectations we have for support and supervision. If we can’t advocate for ourselves we cannot effectively advocate for others.

Social justice underpins social work. When you are sitting under mounds of papers that need to be filed in front of a computer with a database programme that needs to be compiled, it is good to throw a thought back as to why the job is important and continues to be so important. We can’t escape the paper work or the database systems. We probably can’t truly learn to love them either. Unless we actively engage with those who are responsible for making these systems – at a national rather than local level – we can’t expect change.

And so I’m back to the letter we all received from Alan Johnson and Ed Balls – the content being too predictable, it did end with an invitation to discuss and engage with the Social Work Taskforce – with those who are deciding the future of social work in the UK (and an agony aunt from The Sun). I engaged. In pretty strong language – but not offensive language, I hasten to add.

I would encourage others who received their letters to engage – and if the requested conference date is full (as the one I wanted to go to is) – write directly because they do leave an email address (and I, for one, even got a fairly speedy response!).  It will not take long and it is important that we re-grasp the profession for what it is and not for what the media creates it to be.

image

12 thoughts on “World Social Work Day

  1. Thanks – I bought myself some chocolate to celebrate! And I have no idea, Sue. It’s amazingly quiet as regards being aware of it’s existence but for the record, it is the third Tuesday in March.. I would share the chocolate.. honest!

  2. I spread the word on my travels today (school, CAMHS and my GP!) to be particularly nice to social workers for the day. Happy World Social Work Day, cb!

  3. Happy day! (and how important those moments you really are as you dream of how things might change!!!

    It is really about rewriting the story. Today I browsed in a bookshop while waiting for my bus. I noticed it in the window yesterday, and, like a mug, went in to look. ‘Hoods’ the real story of the gangs of Nottingham. Browsed it, thought about it…mmmm I thought, it really doesn’t tell a story that I know and probably many others in Nottingham probably know about some of the ‘bit’ players in this sensational tale. to be told. The wow story of ‘gangs’ and gang members misses, like the elephant in the room, the issues of social justice and injustice that make fools of us all.

    I often think about what I’d do in Nottingham if I won the lottery. £6 million? I’d go into one of the hardest areas of Nottingham and I’d normalise it, adopt it and make sure that everyone knew about it. I’d ensure that everyone had a secure tenancy, their debts were paid off and that they had a proper holiday, that they all had an opportunity to dress up, have fun enjoy the world again without drugs, drink and prostitution, for example. ‘Have your day off from indignity!!!’ A holiday from prostitution or mental illness or burglary, petty crime and all that boring stuff that passes for your life!
    Say what you think, say what you really think!
    mmmm I don’t think it would really work but isn;t it great imagining the inner city full of citizens unbothered by metricators and metrication!

  4. in-the-margins – Sweet! Thanks for the thoughts!
    Soapsoane – Thanks too – and I hope you do win the lottery. It is a wonderful thought.

    • It was an electronic letter (er… email!) that was sent to whatever email address the GSCC holds –

      so for me they sent it to my local authority email address even though I use my nhs one more. It wasn’t terribly thrilling and I’m sure you can guess the contents about how important we all are and they want to improve social work etc. I can’t really remember. For me the only useful part was the link at the end with the email address to contact the taskforce people.

  5. Pingback: Mental Nurse · This Week in Mentalists (72)

Comments are closed.