Depression Awareness Week


Just a quick post today as I need to get myself to work earlier than usual but I noticed that the Depression Alliance are kicking off  ‘Depression Awareness Week’ today.

The Depression Alliance have published some related research (pdf) in time to mark the start of the week which

reveals the majority (79%) of people diagnosed with depression in the UK feel disclosing their condition to colleagues would have a detrimental impact on them, and nearly a third (32%) believe they have been turned down for a job

I can’t say that any of those figures strike me as particularly surprising but it goes to show how important it is to combat the stigma that is associated with mental illness.

Meanwhile the Depression Alliance’s website, which I’ve been browsing through extensively this morning, has an impressive list of links and useful sites that I know I intend to explore more fully in time!