Bank Holiday Mix


It’s a Bank Holiday here today so I’ve just cobbled together a few links that caught my eye.

PsychCentral lists 12 Great Things about Twitter – and of course, you can follow me here! Personally, I found it took me a while to get into it but once you have a few people to follow and engage a little in some ‘conversation’ it can definitely prove its worth!

Seaneen from the wonderful Secret Life of a Manic  Depressive Blog has the radio play based on her blog airing this Friday – I expect it’ll be available on the BBC’s iPlayer..

Liz Spikol writes in the Huffington Post about real-life (i.e. non-professional) tips to relieve stress and calls for more examples!  I’d probably add most forms of chocolate..

The BBC report that depression in fathers can impact mental health of children – and that perhaps too much focus has been maternal health. I have to say, I don’t find this all that surprising.

It comes the week before MIND launch their annual MIND week campaign which this year focuses on male mental health.

The Times run a ‘day in the life’ interview with the manager of a care home.

And this evening, Panorama air ‘Baby P – The Whole Truth?’ subtitled Further revelations on the case of Baby P, who died while under the care of social workers.

Seems a little loaded. I’ve seen the preview in the news and am pretty sure what will be said. Haringey are incompetent and have a string of poor managers some of whom may have been dismissed.

Honestly, I wonder how things will get better when no-one who has any option about it would go near a job in Haringey with a barge-pole. It is quality front-line workers they need more than anywhere there who feel well-supported and well supervised and I am not sure that pinning the blame repeatedly on an individual social worker will achieve positive effects in Haringey in the long run.

I wonder where the stories and investigations are about the other tragic situations that have occurred in Camden and Newham and in Doncaster?  Where are the Panorama programmes that are a little wider in scope that might be able to teach us more about a national system that is failing?

Perhaps something new will be learnt which will affect future policies and protect more children more effectively.

Let’s just hope that that is the agenda of the news programming and I’m just being overly cynical. For a change.