Thinking forward


I realise that I might have been a bit more stressed than usual of late. This is due to a combination of factors. It has been a long time since I’ve had any kind of break from work – probably more than is usually the case. I have also had a rush of work to do that seems to be time-limited and am not feeling totally comfortable with the quality of the work that I’m doing at the moment.

I’m rushing some things and being a little less mindful than I would like to be. My excuse is workload and pressure of emergencies that are immediately prioritised but in some senses I am also finding it difficult to concentrate as much as I would like.

I’m trying to spend as much time in the office this week as I can – in the hope of clearing a lot of the backlogged paperwork. I do not take naturally to paperwork but sometimes I feel exceptionally guilty when I neglect it for too long and need – as far as possible – a few days to catch myself up so that I can feel a little more like I’m on top of things.

I have a short weekend break planned. It will be the first time I’ve been away since November which might not seem like that long ago but it is probably the longest period I’ve taken between ‘breaks’ since I’ve been back in the UK.  I have no doubt that it is related to my general stress levels.

I have mentioned our wonderfully cohesive AMHP rota where between myself and one other person, we cover one-week-on, one-week-off. By the luck of fate, I have a Mental Health Act Assessment booked for 9am of the day I return from my break.  That’s something that should help my mind settle while I’m on holiday!

I am trying to think positive though. It really does help me. So in the spirit of positive thinking, a reminder that for all the grumbling and rumbling and brief looks through the relevant jobs pages when they find their way to my desk – there really isn’t anywhere else I’d rather be working or anything else I’d rather be doing – and that’s not a bad place to be!

image aussiegall at flickr

5 thoughts on “Thinking forward

  1. “Find a job you enjoy and you need never work a day in your life” – Confucius.

    Sorry to hear that you’re stressed at the mo and hoping you enjoy your weekend away.

    Take care,
    Differently

  2. Hope you manage to catch up with the paperwork soon, and your stress reduces too- it’s not surprising really given the changes in your home life too. Enjoy the weekend break- try to ban thinking about 9am Monday while you’re away!!

  3. Thanks for the positive thoughts, all!

    Soapsoane – I love that idea and thanks for the link – on the 19th July though, I’ll actually be out of the country – that’s holiday pt 2!

Comments are closed.