Moving on Individual Budgets


And so it starts. Currently we are still in ‘pilot’ phase of the Individual Budget roll-out – the forefront of the personalisation and self-directed support agenda and if that sentence made little sense to you – you can probably count yourself lucky!

Very basically there is an ideologically  welcome move towards more control by users of services around the services they receive which is a very noble and worthy cause. We are trying to work through some of the details and our local authority is trying to put systems together through the pilots that have been running. While I’d like to hide my head in the sand and pretend nothing is changing, not because I don’t think it is a worthy ideal, but rather because of the intense increase in bureaucracy and the time needed to work through the new and somewhat shaky systems being put into place.

I decided that I really needed to be positive and try to actually understand what was to be happening because it isn’t going away  and so, in conjunction with a service user and her daughter (main carer) who want to engage with the process and ‘see how it works’, I am doing what I can to work through the systems as they exist.

The main pilots so far have focussed on younger adults with disabilities, people with learning disabilities and older adults with fairly straightforward care packages.

Although at the time, I explained I felt they needed to tackle some of the more complex examples at the time, mental health services were very much left out of the ‘loop’ of information.

Currently, I have assisted in the completion of the self-assessment questionnaires and have validated them. As the service user in question as fairly advanced Alzheimer’s type dementia, there was a significant input from her family and carers and I assisted considerably myself – so the ‘self-assessment’ idea was somewhat lost through that process but I felt it was important to work through the ‘processes’ with a person who has little capacity to engage actively with the assessments and realistically, it will involve many of the users of our service.

I tackled the RAS (Resource Allocation System) although I’m not entirely confident it is ‘correct’ and so my next task is to take the documents to a meeting to discover what the ‘indicative budget’ is and then, assuming all goes well, to return to patient and carer (I am running two different applications side-by-side – one for service user and a different one for carer in her own right).

I might have messed the entire thing up of course, but as I expected to user and carer themselves, the worst thing that could happen at this point is remaining with the status quo while I spend time working things out. The positive outcome would be more flexibility to choose carers and tasks that are more appropriate to their individual circumstances and to have more input into the support packages that provide the best outcomes.

But.. and this is the big but.. so far, getting as far as we have, namely writing up all the documentation and putting the forms, assessments, resource allocations etc has taken me the good part of a couple of days. That’s not including the three specific visits each of at least an hour to work through the actual assessment forms. Which would be fine and dandy if that linked in with the time taken on other work, emergency assessments, people being discharged from hospital,  rushing to court to get warrants etc.

Suffice to say the team isn’t overly heartened by the lack of support in implementing these new systems – the local authority has put a lot of support into the Community Care teams with additional workers and weekly support groups  but in the bleak and distant mental health teams, we are left increasingly on the periphery and detached further from the general information streams and planning but my thought is that at least by attempting it, we won’t be completely left out and if I make a mess of my attempts, at least I am identifying a genuine training need!

Hopefully, I’ll be able to update the process as I go through it.. .

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=paperwork&iid=5065548″ src=”5/b/5/9/Young_woman_leaning_5038.jpg?adImageId=7817131&imageId=5065548″ width=”380″ height=”285″ /]

One thought on “Moving on Individual Budgets

  1. I always find it very reassuring that your experience almost exactly mirrors what goes on where we work. Too much paper, not enough clarity, mental health on the fringes. All very familiar.

    Currently this and Performance Indicators are very much flavour of the month

Comments are closed.