Towards Christmas


Certainly it’s been picking up this week in terms of the rush – and compounded by more than the usual number of people off work at any given period, mean that it’s likely to be a busy week.

I am used to working over the Christmas period – I can’t remember the last time I had the Christmas period off work and in some ways, my work can serve to compound the fortunate state that I find myself in general in my life and situation. As for this week itself, today I have to do and visit someone who is very unlikely to be in when I visit – it might seem unnecessary but it is a part of a concerted attempt to ‘make contact’ – probably in the precursor to other methods of outreach being attempted although to be honest, between the team, we’ve tried most things.

Last week, I had a call at the tail end of the week from a carer who is the daughter of a woman that I work with to tell me a close family member had died very unexpectedly. I assured that I would pop in this week. And there are a couple of pre-Christmas visits to people I am more concerned about – who have had particularly difficult years and might need some extra support and assistance through the so-called ‘festive’ period. I don’t say that as a cynic but simply that, in my experience, it can be one of the more miserable times of the year for those who are alone or without family.

I try to spend the week between Christmas and the New Year in the office and ‘dealing with emergencies’. I have scheduled a couple of visits for those I am most concerned about but generally, it can be a good time to catch up on paperwork when the office is quieter than usual.

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=turkey+christmas&iid=5132004″ src=”c/4/c/3/high_angle_closeup_e281.jpg?adImageId=8505311&imageId=5132004″ width=”234″ height=”176″ /]

For me, I rather like Christmas. Girl wanted a traditional English Christmas. So I bought a Turkey.. for the three of us. I was intending to buy a Turkey Crown at the very most, just on a quantity scale and fear for the amount of food involved but she sounded heartbroken and REALLY wanted a leg of Turkey. I bought the smallest turkey I could find but I still worry about quite the amount of leftovers that it’ll be generated. I am trying to make it as traditional a Christmas as possible although ironically we never really did Christmas much in our house. We have some assorted presents under the tree but have had, unsurprisingly, a tearful weekend with thoughts of being away from family at Christmas time and a time that is emphasised as being for families to be together.

My friends and family have been good about including her in our present-giving and card-giving rounds. Especially grateful as I’ve been a little lax with presents this year!

Apart from Christmas, there’s the thought that my dad would have been 70 on Wednesday. Each of these ‘moments’ without him – my first birthday, his first birthday, Christmas/Festivals … they bring it home. If they weren’t so hard on the annual leave, I would have taken the day off to be honest because I doubt my mind will be particularly well-focussed but I have endeavoured to arrange some of my last ‘pre-Christmas’ visits for that day so I’m unlikely to hit the office (so to speak) very much.

But at least I have four days off over the weekend.

One thought on “Towards Christmas

  1. I hope that you have a good time with your foster child and hope that you are able to enjoy the good memories of your dad while you adjust to life without his presence.

Comments are closed.