A New Government


I had a lump in my throat when I watched Brown’s resignation speech. I thought he spoke with an enormous dignity. But within the hour a new tenant of 10 Downing Street had staked his claim.

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=david+cameron+nick+clegg&iid=8735403″ src=”0/0/9/7/Conservative_Party_leader_d861.jpg?adImageId=12828300&imageId=8735403″ width=”234″ height=”155″ /]

My one sadness and this is a very personal one is that my father was always a Liberal/Liberal Democrat. My grandfather stood for Parliament (in a completely unwinnable seat) as a Liberal and my mother stood as a councillor (again, I think it was not a particular winnable seat) for the Liberals.  My uncle was a Liberal councillor for decades. Although I’ve veered at times further to the left, my father who was brought up very much in that political culture and environment would have been so excited to watch the games as they have unfolded. He loved politics. How much he would have enjoyed this process. I’m not sure about the result as he was very bitter about Thatcher’s legacy but nonetheless I’m sad he didn’t live to see it.

So what might a Conservative/LibDem coalition look like? Wow, I just shuddered even typing those words.

There will be a lot more coming out through the day but so far but the National Care Service is dead. Will there be another consultation on funding for Adult Care? Probably.. Eventually.. but the costs will be a factor and costs are going to be a heavy theme for this Parliament.

For the moment the focus will be heartily on cuts. It is a frightening time to work in the public sector although in our team and our Trust, the cuts have been coming hard and fast in any case. Just yesterday, we were told that some of the advertised vacancies which had been covered by now dismissed agency staff, have been retracted and that there will be a recruitment freeze – regardless of current vacancy levels. Not Good.

Incidently, I was talking to the other AMHP in my team earlier in the week and she muttered how we should be reassured that as AMHPs we were in a better position than most regarding job security as there is a big shortage of AMHPs in the Trust and people haven’t been rushing forward to train. Maybe that will change but I don’t take a lot of comfort in it to be honest. There will definitely be more than a few lean years. I can’t say I’m want to be graduating imminently..

On a broader level, I worry about where the Personalisation Agenda will move and how much it will be a transformation into lower costs and scrounging around agencies paying minimum wages at awful conditions for an hour here or there.

I am pleased the income tax allowance will rise to £10,000, helping the lowest paid workers, and the Tories plan to raise the inheritance tax will be shelved.

I was also heartened to see a proposed end to child detention immigration controls.

I’m  glad they’ll be a referendum on the Alternative Vote system.

I expect we’ll know a lot more about the way things will fall together when we know who is in charge of Care Services and pushing these agendas that are specifically relevant to social care through. I hope that the Tories ‘insurance’ scheme against costs of entering residential care is considered and dismissed as the idiocy that it is.

As I mentioned to a colleague at work yesterday, a coalition government is better than a Conservative government.  I have to say I am trying to be hopeful but I have just a little trepidation moving forward.

But I’ll get back to that over the next few days no doubt.

——-

In other news, The Guardian highlights that a documentary called ‘Sectioned’ will show on BBC4 next week – May 19. It will follow three people ‘as they pass through the UK mental health system’. I think it sounds fascinating and will, no doubt, pick up on it when it shows – but something to highlight in advance.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

6 thoughts on “A New Government

  1. Scary times for social care CB but you’re right. All we can do for now is wait and see what actually happens.

    Looking forward to the next general election which I sincerely hope will come sooner rather than later.

    Cheers,

    Stuart

  2. Thanks for you rpoint of view on the UK government’s effect on care. I’m scarily awaiting our general election next month to see if we’ll get yet another Christian/liberal government. Although I mus tsay, we got Christian/Labor until the current govt collapsed, and the Labor secretratry of health cut massive social crare budgets.

  3. Thanks for you rpoint of view on the UK government’s effect on care. I’m scarily awaiting our general election next month to see if we’ll get yet another Christian/liberal government. Although I mus tsay, we got Christian/Labor until the current govt collapsed, and the Labor secretary of health cut massive social care budgets.

  4. Thanks, Stuart and Astrid.
    We are not used to coalition govt here so it’s quite a novelty but as for how it will work, it’s a matter of waiting to see but there are a lot of nervous public sector workers..

  5. Pingback: This Week In Mentalists: The Deja Vu Edition « Mental Nurse

  6. The way thoings are, cuts would be inevitable under any governement, but yeah… some good stuff, some bad stuff.

    Very pleased about the £10,000 personal allowance.

Comments are closed.