Preparations


I’m just tidying up some of my bits and pieces at work in preparation for my surgery and recovery period. I have a student at the moment and the sickness is coming at an awkward time but provisions have been made for my absence. I wanted to leave her some things to be getting on with in my absence although part of the difficulty is that I’m not sure exactly how long I’ll be off for.

As a part of my trying to arrange things for her to do, I did a bit of research about what was ‘out there’ as far as self-study and online study related to social work and social care. Of course, I’ve not used all of this in her plan (she is going to be well-supervised in my absence and I don’t want to over-burden her!) but I thought some of the resources might be useful for others wishing to prepare for social work training or practice..

 

SCIE (Social Care Institute of Excellence).

They have some great material here, particularly some of the e-learning resources. It’s been particularly useful in my own setting as there are modules that link closely to the work that we do. It’s fairly rudimentary but really really useful for new students/returning practitioners to get a foot in and recap on some of the knowledge bases. Seems to be much better for adult social work than chidrens’ but that’s a general observation. There might be more Children and Family resources elsewhere or hidden deeper on the site that I just haven’t found yet!

 

OpenLearn (Open University)

OpenLearn is a wonderful resource from the Open University of free, high quality resources that they use in their degree programmes but allow free access to worldwide in order for the information to be shared more widely. I love OpenLearn for lots of reasons and have followed some completely unrelated to work study programmes from it – so I’d recommend a nose around to anyone – BUT, the Open University do provide a good Social Work programme so it would be remiss not to mention some of the resources and learning packs that they have online for free access.

 

The Social Work specific courses are listed under ‘Society’ or in ‘Health and Lifestyle’ – it’s worth having a nose through them not least because there is a wealth of material.

 

Some of the units I’ve highlighted are ‘Social Care, Social Work and the Law (England and Wales)’, Diversity and Difference in Communication, ‘Mental Health Practice’ and ‘Becoming a Critical Social Work Practitioner’

 

Writeenough

Write enough is a self-study pack relating to case recording. It is specifically aimed at work in childrens’ services but almost all of the information holds as true for work within adult services.

 

There were some other bits and pieces I found and I hope to add a section to the site about resources so if anyone has any suggestions, please leave them here so I can try to collate a list!