Resolutions and Reflections


(145/365) Expanding my horizons

My only New Year’s Resolution this year was not to make any New Year’s Resolutions.  I will try and make positive adjustments continuously rather than focus for this time on perceived (and real!) failings and shortcomings in my character – but that’s hopefully what I’ve been doing all my life without a necessarily conscious realisation of what I am doing.

Sometimes by making resolutions, especially some of those recurring ones about eating more healthily, being more active, getting a driving licence – it just reminds me of my failings in previous years. No, I’m starting the year with a wonderful lack of resolutions, goals and expectations to place on myself.

After all, if I am constantly trying to do my best, there isn’t any need for them!

I remember last year sitting round a dinner table with some friends on New Years Eve at a low key house party that was more of a dinner party. We moved around the table making resolutions. This year, I was at the same place with mostly the same people. And mostly the same resolutions. That’s when the absurdity struck me.

That isn’t to say it isn’t right for other people of course, but for me, I have no great desire to over-reflect to the point of self-criticism.

I’ve dwelt on the importance of dates and seasonal indicators a lot over the last couple of weeks. It was relatively busy at work last week when we were running on ‘skeleton staffing’ ratios. The season means a lot to many people and we all have memories that attach themselves to ‘occasions’ and seasons all the year round. The bleak cold of January when we have a long stretch to Easter and the arrival of Spring is one of my least favourite times of the year. I tend to feel more positive in March/April so maybe that’s when I’ll work out some of the goal-planning details – if I do at all.

I don’t mind working over the Christmas period – there are moments when you feel a bit rough going into work when no-one else seems to be but the positives are a generally quieter work environment and a bit more time to catch  up on some of the pieces of paperwork that have been piling up.  Also, going back to work tomorrow isn’t going to be so rough as I was at work last week.

Next year though, I think I’ll take the first week of January off. I like the idea of a few days after everyone else goes back. I don’t think that counts as a resolution!

2 thoughts on “Resolutions and Reflections

  1. I’m having the first week off, too. It’s an inspired idea! A couple of years ago I resolved to get to grips with social networking and Web2: that was a good resolution. I’ll recycle that one. Hope 2011 goes well for you – difficult times, I know.

Comments are closed.