Mini post – (AKA random weekend musing + plug)


I haven’t put together my social work links for the weekend yet because I was busying myself putting together this weeks

This Week in Mentalists’ on the ever excellent ‘Mental Nurse’.  Anyone who doesn’t follow that site – do. It’s long been an inspiration to me..

I hope to pump some more specific social work links over the weekend.

I’m also working on a few posts relating specifically to Capacity, the Mental Capacity Act and DoLs so if you have any questions – or want to prompt me in a particular direction – do ask – I can’t promise I’ll deliver though!

It may very well be a theme for next week though.

Thanks all!

6 thoughts on “Mini post – (AKA random weekend musing + plug)

  1. Pingback: Mini post – (AKA random weekend musing + plug) - Fighting Monsters - Member blogs - Social Work Blog - Carespace from Community Care

  2. I’d be very interested in your thoughts about the widespread use of keypads to lock doors in care homes, in effect imprisoning those who can’t operate the pad to open the door. Do we ask ourselves how we would feel if this happened to us? It should not surprise us that some residents of care homes are driven mad by being confined in this way.
    Yet this practice seems to be taken for granted by regulators and outsiders. Staff often believe that removing or disabling the keypads would expose residents to the danger of “wandering” out of the home and staff to the blame that would attach to this happening. While we know that there are some residents who might well put themselves in danger by getting lost, run over, or just very cold and wet, we need to think of other ways to deal with this problem. These other ways require more staff attention and closer relationships as well as the acceptance of risk by relatives, providers and those commissioning services. They also require a very different attitude to care homes – as caring communities which are a part of their local communities and neighbourhoods.
    Like drugging people into submission, locking people in appears to be a money-saver in that it requires lower staffing ratios, but if you think about the effects on residents and the resulting loss of physical and mental functions, the desperation and emotional disturbance, it is a false economy.

  3. Thanks John – rather than answering in the comments, I’ll try to build my thoughts into the ‘series’ over the next week or so – I’m so tempted to reply now though… must resist – suffice to say I definitely have an opinion!

  4. simler issue at local hospital all wards are kept locked including those with informal patients on. Patients have to ask to be let out i have raised the issue and been told it’s legal by hospital manger. Discussed with a CQC member at a training event she had concerns

  5. I’m long retired but it’s been good to hear about some of the lively, progressive thinking people are into these days. I’m also a widower, which brought home helpfully and painfully in a recent article, issues of loss. I’m also thinking about how social and community enteprises, and we created six of them in Cambridgeshire in my last years in practice ranging from a regional Credit Union to community farms, as well as range of not very satisifying trustee ships. The reason for this, is that NGO’s, invariably never consult, fail to think about collective approaches, rarely look critically at the way in which they practice vis-a-vis the statutory sectors and, finally, all think they know individually how to solve the world’s problems. But I am, more positively now working with Tony Phillips from http://www.realife.co.uk who is really thinking about alternatives from a more informally based student unit base. Let’s rethink community social work. It really does have a future in these uncertain, unthought-through Cameron days…

Comments are closed.