Weekend Links 6


As usual at the weekend now, I’ll just run through some posts that have caught my attention over the week relating specifically to social work and social care.

Hessian Pepper at The Small Places has a wonderfully useful summary and commentary on the MIG and MEG Court of Protection judgement which raises a number of questions about the definition of a Deprivation of Liberty. I would strongly advise anyone concerned with the Mental Capacity Act to follow his/her blog because I’m finding it a great resource!  Another great legal resource which has a broader remit but is a fascinating and useful read is the UK Human Rights Blog.

On How Not to Do Social Work,  there are thoughts and reflections on the transition into legal adulthood as an 18th birthday looms.

Social Worker-to-Be (who isn’t a ‘to-be’ anymore!) tells us about her first weeks as a Newly Qualified Social Worker.

SocialJerk deconstructs some of the toys she (um.. her clients?) use. Fantastic stuff. I quite like stuffed animals myself but they might not demonstrate some of the ‘interactions’ as well and anyway, I’m not the best at passing toy judgement!

Kyrss on The New Social Worker Blog had an interesting idea of writing a ‘Valentine Letter’ to ‘Social Work’. I’m not sure might would have been so poetic.

At Always Something to Complain About, the focus is on paperwork and it’s clear that some issues really are truly international.

Malcolm Payne at St Christopher’s Blog has a fascinating post about the Ombudsman Report into End of Life Care that was published this week from a perspective of a Palliative Care Practitioner.

Nancy Smyth at Virtual Connections has a fantastic post about using therapists using social media with trauma survivors. It’s a really interesting perspective and  as social media becomes increasingly a part of the mainstream ‘life’ we live, we do have to think about how it is used at work.

Another interesting post is the ‘Behind the Scenes at the Social Work Podcast’ episode and interview with the founder. As I’m thinking and planning a podcast myself, I’ve found it very timely.  My respect has increased no end after trying to edit even 5 minutes of audio myself last weekend!

Finally, on a lighter note, Jontybabe tells us 5 things that make her feel good..

And in that spirit, here are my five (excluding the obvious family and friends!)

1. Waking up on a Saturday Morning and realising you have a full weekend ahead.

2. A good novel that you can’t put down

3. Chocolate. Any form really (although I was too scared to try Marmite Chocolate so that might have to be qualified – now why did I never think about a Chocolate Blog.. oops, getting distracted).

4. Travelling to a new places

5. Learning new things.

7 thoughts on “Weekend Links 6

  1. Pingback: Weekend Links 6 - Fighting Monsters - Member blogs - Social Work Blog - Carespace from Community Care

  2. Marmite chocolate? I didn’t know that existed! I love marmite and I love chocolate but I certainly don’t want them together!

  3. Pingback: This Week in Mentalists – Tax Avoidance Edition « Mental Nurse

  4. Thanks for linking to my post– I really like your format of a weekend links summary–you provide a wonderful way to get introduced to all sorts of interesting social work blogs

  5. Pingback: Weekend Links 7 | Fighting Monsters

Comments are closed.