Weekend Links 9


The weekend again. I’d like to thank all those who come across this blog. I’ve had a massive upsurge in readers this year and I appreciate the time that people spend coming, reading, commenting and responding on Twitter. In the comments under the Guardian article about public sector blogging (which I highly recommend!), one of the commenters challenged me directly to ask ‘why do you write a blog and not just a private journal?’ when I noted that I didn’t write with the expectation of readers.

I’ve been thinking about this and I think it because the feedback acts as a type of incentive. I think it also affects my writing style when I know there may be an audience. When I write notes for myself, they are much less coherent.

It is also a motivation issue. I can’t help checking my blog stats regularly and getting excited when the numbers rise. The need or desire to write may well make itself into a new post over the next weeks.

Anyway, on to the links of the week

On ‘Going Public’ Neil writes about the case brought to the GSCC about the woman who was disciplined for ‘impersonating a social worker’. While this brought all sorts of images into my head about long flowery skirts and Doc Martens, the story involves someone who wasn’t qualified and registered as a social worker in a ‘social work’ job. He asks what is it that social workers actually do. Interesting stuff. Very pertinent at the moment in adult social care.

Nancy Smyth in Virtual Connections gives a useful transatlantic comparison, writing about what social workers do other than therapy in the US.

In a vaguely connected issue, Simply Social Work explains in ‘How not to do Social Work’ what the introduction of Social Work Practices may mean – although he writes about childrens services, they are also on their way in adult services. It could be a great opportunity but my scepticism takes more than a few fancy words to grind down!

A post from The Masked AMHP is always a joy so I was thrilled that he posted this week on the Mental Health Tribunal System and Appeals against detentions under the Mental Health Act. I sometimes forget how alien some of our work is to those who don’t work in this field. He explains very well the processes and I’m looking forward to part 2. It is also a recognition of the appeal process and the right to appeal.

Social Worker to Be, being a fully fledged social worker has changed the name of her blog to ‘Spinning Plates’. I know the feeling and she explains about her process of settling down to work.

One of my favourite stories of the week popped up yesterday on Social Workers Speak and it was about consultation between Electronic Arts who publish ‘The Sims 3’ computer game and social workers about the representation of social workers in The Sims programmes (where, basically the social worker comes and takes away your baby Sim if you neglect them!).  I think there’s a role in computer simulation ‘caring’ games, like Nintendogs and The Sims for helping children in foster care (I’m talking about my personal experience) to understand what neglect is and what is expected when looking after a family/dog. Food, drink but also care, company, entertainment and education. It can provide a non-threatening and non-judgemental area for these issues to be discussed without criticism of their own family.

And on the subject of games, Mike Langlois has an interesting connection to make between games and therapy.

SocialJerk explains that office space is about to become increasingly rare in her department as they take on a lot more staff in the same space. I remember those halcyon days when space was an issue in our office. Now we have acres of it due to lengthy recruitment freezes.

Meanwhile Social Worker in the South has started her new job and is settling in.

International Women’s Day was this week and Nechakogal wrote one of my favourite pieces about this day.

And there are a few podcasts to highlight this week. I haven’t listened to them all yet but they are on my ‘to listen’ list.

The Social Work Podcast has an episode about the process of Evidence Based Practice. I am increasingly interested in links between research and practice so I’m looking forward to this one.

And the Living Proof podcast has an episode about the history of social work in the US which again, I’m very much looking forward to listening to.

Community Care have started their own Social Care podcast with a UK tilt. I haven’t had a chance to listen yet but I expect it to be both useful and entertaining!

Maybe next week, I’ll have to do a podcast review post!

Have a good weekend!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Links 9

  1. Pingback: Weekend Links 9 - Fighting Monsters - Member blogs - Social Work Blog - Carespace from Community Care

  2. Thanks for the mention of my blog post! I would love to have someone from the UK come by the blog to add a comment about how our discussion of clinical social work is different/similar to what you have here in the UK (and elsewhere).

  3. Pingback: This Week in Mentalists: Avoiding the Rugby Edition « Mental Nurse

  4. Pingback: Weekly Social Work Links 12 | Fighting Monsters

Comments are closed.