Weekly Social Work Links 10


A Purim gragger, a kind of ratchet used in Jud...

Image via Wikipedia

I’m back.  In fact, I never went away but I realised that sometimes I  just need to give myself a little more time in the morning than the regular blogging allows but back to service as usual with a collection of links that have caught my attention over the last week.

I’ve changed the name of my weekly round up to be slightly more descriptive but if anyone has any suggestions for better names – please leave them in the comment box.

One of the most thoughtful posts I’ve read this week was on Jaeran Kim’s site which she writes about the ‘insider/outsider’ dichotomy and research bias in  adoption and fostering. My explanation doesn’t do it justice but as with everything she writes (I’m a great fan!), it left me with thoughts that challenge some of the assumptions we make for better reflection on our own experiences and biases.

SocialJerk explains some of the variety of roles that social workers take.

And on the Diary of a Social Worker, there’s an examination of those ‘amateur social workers’ who think they do ‘social work’ without an understanding of what the job is. Interesting perspective. I remember being highly irritated by an MP saying that their ‘casework’ was social work. It is not anything remotely resembling my job.

Meanwhile, the Masked AMHP whose role I recognise only too well, continues with their discussion of the Tribunal process in ‘When Detained Patients Appeal – Part 2’

Jamie Middleton writes about the honour that is accorded when someone discusses mental illness and their needs with a ‘professional’ and the importance of trust – it should never be taken for granted.

On How Not to Do Social Work, a guest post by the author’s student which demonstrates both fantastic reflection and the scope that blogs have to allow us to share those reflective thoughts. I hope she (and he!) keep writing

Malcolm Payne has an interesting compare and contrast post relating to the different attitudes of the Cabinet Office and the Department of Communities and Local Government and their respective approaches to ‘Big Society’.

As well as World Social Work Day, it was also St Patrick’s Day this week. I always wondered a bit why it was so widely celebrated in the United States. I really liked Melinda Lewis’ post about the ‘melting post’ in the US in the context of St Patrick’s Day and the history of Irish immigration in the US.

And talking of cultural heritage , Everyone Needs Therapy shares the story of Purim which falls today.  I always have very fond memories of Purim so it was good to read a retelling. It reminds me that although I feel, sound and am British – there is always that sense of the ‘other’ in my cultural heritage.

Drawing us back to the present and the communality of world experience, Nechakogal’s Blog covers the multiple tragedies unfolding in Japan and some of the eagerness to put an economic price on a human disaster. Food for thought.

And somewhat related but in a more concerning way, is the post from The Nudge Patrol about a YouTube video published of a student’s racist rant and a consideration of the way to approach these views.  I was interested also to read this take on it.

Back to World Social Work Day and a more positive view – because we need it –  and the post on A Social Workers View gave the day a more international perspective.

There are a few things that blogging has given me. One is a place to reflect on some of the issues that come out. Another is the community that is constantly evolving in social work across the world. But more than what I have learnt from writing is what I have learnt from reading so have a look around the links and enjoy the different perspectives and experiences shared. We are lucky to live in days where it is so easy to broaden and expand our respective minds.

Happy Purim Smile

9 thoughts on “Weekly Social Work Links 10

  1. Pingback: Weekly Social Work Links 10 - Fighting Monsters - Member blogs - Social Work Blog - Carespace from Community Care

  2. Happy purim to you, a long time since I had any chumantashen. Thank you for what you write and for what you point us to. Much appreciated. I do hope the growth in more social workers ‘getting’ social media continues. This week I asked 75 social work students who had a twitter account – a handful said they had though probably half were on facebook. They are just not seeing the potential and transferring the personal to the professional. Have a great weekend

    • Ooops, I hit the wrong reply button. My comment below was in response to this comment, not to CB’s. It’s Monday morning. I’ll wake up eventually 🙂

  3. Thanks and to you if you celebrate or even if you don’t – we should all have happy weekends regardless of religious and cultural connoctations! I’m unobservant in the extreme but for me it’s a cultural thing rather than a religious thing (I have to google the dates of the festivals…) but as I said, I always had happy memories of these festivals 🙂 (not the fasting ones.. never liked those!).
    I use twitter and facebook in very different ways and find twitter the better ways of sharing information and coming across new information. I really do think there is a massive value in sharing and it has enriched my personal and professional experiences many times over.

    • Here at work, we are not allowed to go onto the facebook site (a screen comes up warning us that it is blocked). If we do, we are basically asking to have big brother watch our computer usage very closely. That being said, the last time I was on the Internet Movie DataBase (IMDB), it was for a movie about families going through paediatric cancer. No problem explaining that one!

  4. Pingback: This Week in Mentalists – Red Noses Edition « Mental Nurse

  5. Pingback: Weekly Social Work Links 11 | Fighting Monsters

  6. Pingback: Weekly Social Work Links 11 | Daringsearch

  7. Pingback: Weekly Social Work Links 12 | Fighting Monsters

Comments are closed.