Weekly Social Work Links 11


I am going to have to do a quicker than usual ‘round up’ this week because I’m heading off to the March this morning.

But it has been a fantastic week in terms of the richness of posts.

I’ve already written a post about why I am marching today but this post by SocialJerk about the situation regarding housing in New York opened my eyes. This is where we are heading.

On the subject of housing Malcolm Payne writes about the ways that the social work role is described in literature provided for housing staff and he raises a lot of the issues of the confusion about the definition of the social work role and the issue of  why ‘social worker’ is often confused with ‘local authority social worker’ in the UK.

Ladybird writes about the ‘ripple effect’ of the cuts in her own service.

A Social Worker’s View talks of the problems raised by a shortage of condoms in Kenya. Something to bear in mind from my often anglocentric world view.

The Masked AMHP and the next stage of his explanation of the tribunal process ‘When Detained Patients Appeal’ series and the story of what happens in a tribunal.  Sometimes I forget how alien some aspects of my job may seem to others. I haven’t ever written about tribunals. Perhaps one day I’ll pop up with some of my own thoughts and experiences.

How Not to Do Social Work has a time for decisions and contemplates burnout. A potential hazard of the trade.

And Nectarine on Going Mental  raises the issue of noise in the office. I feel her pain.

While Social Worker Mom asks when it’s no longer healthy to work with a particular client.

A Case Manager’s Verse talks about issues regarding communication via email at work. Many interesting points raised that I hadn’t considered and some I had but hadn’t quantified.

Jamie Middleton writes about the importance of pets to someone’s mental wellbeing.

JaeRan Kim writes another thoughtful post about treating difference and perceptions about mainstream integration and the place of disability culture when moving towards fully integrated societies. Food for thought.

Dorlee at Social Work Career Development has a great interview with an art therapist about her work.

Nancy Smyth at Virtual Connections has a post about the use of Second Life and a PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) simulation. I remain a little uneasy about this kind of simulation. I haven’t had any experience of using second life and remain generally sceptical but it is interesting to read about these programmes and how they may be used. Maybe I’m just being a fuddy-duddy!

Speaking of which, I’ll sign off with an post from the Social Work Tech Blog about using a ‘Social Work Digital Toolbox’ and there are some useful ideas there if you have an iPad or want to justify the acquisition of one ‘because it would be good for work’.

To sign off though, I’m going to link to this video of the Andrew Lansley Rap.

5 thoughts on “Weekly Social Work Links 11

  1. Thanks for the mention! I always appreciate it. And I hope people in the UK are paying attention. I don’t comment as much as I should, but learning more about the budgeting issues there, and the challenges to the welfare system, worries me. I’m always thinking, don’t let what’s happened here happen there. I know it sounds dramatic, but it’s a scary time.

  2. Thanks. Honestly that’s my worry – not that it helps you guys 😦 And thanks – likewise I read but don’t comment as much as I intend to but I love your blog and writing style. A definite ‘must read’.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Social Work Links 11 - Fighting Monsters - Member blogs - Social Work Blog - Carespace from Community Care

  4. Thanks for the mention of my post about the PTSD simulation in Second Life. If you haven’t experienced virtual worlds, I can totally understand your hesitancy. They are pretty hard to get your brain around at an idea level. Most social workers are not used to gaming environments (which is, of course, where virtual worlds came from), and so it’s a particularly hard stretch for us.

Comments are closed.