Weekly Social Work Links 16


I’ve been feeling a little ‘below par’ physically  this week as I’ve been struggling with a persistent cold  – hence the slight delay in my round-up post but here are a few of the posts that have caught my eye over the last week. If you come across any posts that I haven’t noticed, please use the comment form to share them!

Firstly a very welcome return to Social (Over)worker who writes about the importance of names and identity to children (and all of us, in fact).

Malcolm Payne has written an excellent post about local authority social work and some of the binds it finds itself in and how some of the complaints are not new.  Very highly recommended for a knowledgeable  précis of social work in the UK.

Talking about statutory (local authority) social work in the UK, How Not to Do Social Work covers a increase in workloads – something I can definitely identify with.

Moving over to the US, Melinda Lewis from Classroom to Capitol asks about what ‘being busy’ means in an office environment. It’s an interesting post with some thought-provoking posts but of course, I’m always genuinely busy. Seriously though, I can’t remember a time I never said I wasn’t busy although there has definitely been an increase in work coming in of late.

Meanwhile,  the Social Work Tech Blog has a fascinating video which features an interview with a woman who is involved in community work.  The post demonstrates the possibilities of using different media in practice but also in education about cultural difference and diversity and if anything, reminds us about the importance of ‘new media’ to allow groups and individuals who might have struggled to ‘find a voice’ to have a greater one.

Nechakogal’s blog, in Canada, who has raised the interesting issues of ethics in social work practices, settles on an important question about ethics among politicians and in government. I think that should be an international message.

Social Worker Mom also reminded me of some of the issues that really do seem to cross all international boundaries and she writes of some of the difficulties in moving someone from a residential care into independence. I can relate to that, most definitely.

Another international perspective from Social Jerk when she writes about encounters with animals.

David Ray Jr writes about ‘the high maintenance, high functioning client’ and using a strengths-based perspective in work in this area. It’s a great piece about linking theory to practice and as a massive fan of the strengths-based model, I found it a very interesting read.

I liked this very short post by Nectarine at Going Mental about an expectation of expertise from a client in every area.

Finally, Dorlee at Social Work Career Development attended a workshop on Neuroscience, Meditation and Health and posted some of her responses to it.  I am increasingly interested in use of mindfulness and meditation myself and have used some of the tools and found it enormously helpful. The post is excellent.