Keeping Mum


I was sent information by a PR company about a book – Keeping Mum.

Keeping Mum: Caring for Someone with Dementia

I don’t usually respond to requests for information and advertising (and to be clear, this isn’t advertising as I haven’t been paid!) but I thought it might be a book that could be potentially interesting to people who might come across the site. I haven’t actually read the book yet and nor did I request a review copy – simply because I know I have such a backlog of books and lack of time at the moment but the information from the press release is as follows

“When Marianne Talbot’s mum was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, Marianne found it impossible to put her mum into a care home. Instead Marianne cared for her mum in her own home for five years, whilst chronicling her experiences in a blog for three of those years.

The blog has now been published into a book called ‘Keeping Mum’. Heartwarmingly funny, frank and at times emotionally tearing, this book is a record of what it is like to care for a beloved parent whose mind is fragmenting. It is written for anyone, anywhere, who has anything to do with dementia or with caring.

The book also includes some great tips on daily living, managing others’ finances and the social care system. For more info please visit: http://www.keepingmum.org.uk/

Talbot’s blog can be found here and extracts from the book can be read here.

It has received excellent reviews on Amazon and I’m hoping that I will be able to find time to read it and review it properly but in the meantime, it seems to be worth checking out.

One thought on “Keeping Mum

Comments are closed.