Weekly Social Work Links 26


After my somewhat truncated break, I’m back (not that I ever went away but that’s another story for another day!).

Nectarine at Going Mental has to deal with too many consent forms. It’s an interesting take on the invasive nature of forms.

The Modern Social Worker has a piece religion and spirituality and their place in understanding cultural competence.

SocialJerk looks at dealing with the present rather than trying to fix the past. For me, that’s one of the keys of my work and the difference in the way I work and the way a psychologist might work with someone. I deal with the ‘now what?’.

Social Worker Mom is weighing up the pros and cons of her job – I really know that feeling – I do it quite frequently regarding career planning and looking at where I am versus where I want to be so can empathise wholeheartedly.

The Diary of a (Not So) Cheap Social Worker weighs up the pros and cons of moving out of her parents and finding an apartment of her own.

Here’s a great post that is from the week before last but it has some really useful links – as always from the Social Work Tech Blog – this post is about digital resources on the web.

And ever at the cutting edge,   Gamer Therapist looks at some specific uses for Google+.  I have to admit, I’m still finding my feet with Google+ – I am not wholly convinced by it yet but as always see potential and reserve a ‘wait and see’ policy – definitely worth reading the post if you want to find out more about it and a context in which it might be better used.

As a case in point, Dorlee publishes a post about evidence-based practice with information sourced from Google+.

And the Masked AMHP has posted a two part story – Part One here and Part Two here – subtitled Lenny : A Life and Death in the Mental Health System – as always with his posts, it is both poignant and valuable.  Very highly recommended and beautifully written.

How Not to Do Social Work looks at the new Advanced Social Work Professional role and whether it will do what is promised namely, keeping good practitioners on the front line.

A Case Manager’s Verse shares a story about the importance (and usefulness) of boundaries.

Peter at Child Protection Lessons draws on a report about links between mental health issues and child protection.

New BSW has been struggling with the heat – and finding it difficult to work. As for air conditioning, I’m glad it isn’t mandatory here! Sometimes I quite like Britain’s temperate climate..

The New Social Worker Blog also has talk of the heat in New York as well as the changes in state legislation which now recognises same sex marriage.

Congratulations to Doris at Hold My Hand who has just had her book – How Sweet Nursing Home –  about stories from working an a nursing home, published. It’s available via Amazon.com  but doesn’t seem to be available direct in the UK – still, quite an impressive achievement!

The last link and in the spirit of This Week in Mentalists ‘wild card’ is a non-social work post but a post from an ClaireOT about MOOC (Massive Open Online Course). I know some OTs are much more involved in this than social workers (judging from my ‘social media’ presence!) but I think it is a fantastic way to share resources and build information.

I am all for creating different kinds of social work/social care MOOCs. Maybe that’s another project for another day but do go and read Claire’s post if you have any interest in the possibilities of technology to create and grow learning collectively.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Social Work Links 26

  1. Pingback: Society, Ethics And Science Weekly blogs round-up - 01 August 2011 - blog by Gurdur - Blogs on the Heathen Hub

Comments are closed.