Rankings and Musings


Quick post today as I have a few things on the go.

So, Wikio sent me their top 20 UK Health Blogs and again, I’ve made the list. Thanks to everyone for your support and do check out the other sites there – there are some real gems and it’s a pleasure to be among such fine company.


1 PsyBlog – Psychology Blog
2 Sarah Boseley’s global health blog
3 A boy with Asperger’s
4 Dr Grumble
5 Maternity Matters
6 Bad Medicine
7 Where Are My Knees?
8 Confessions of a Serial Insomniac
9 Fighting Monsters
10 Purple Noise
11 frontierpsychiatrist.co.uk
12 National Death Service
13 The Voyage
14 Aspergers, family life and me
15 Bah! to cancer
16 PlanetOutreach-ASD
17 the DeafBlog
18 Carers blog
19 Lake Cocytus
20 DPAC

Ranking made by Wikio

I also was interested in this post from Community Care about crafting in care homes.  I wish there were more personalised activities (or any activities beyond the ‘singalong’ and ‘bingo’ ). It does raise important issues about the sense of self and differing interests and pursuits that one has when one might need residential care and why we make assumptions that what is enjoyable for one person would be enjoyable for the next, just because they are the same age.

With the move towards self-directed support in care provided at home, I wonder when residential services will also pick up.

On a related issue, I caught this link yesterday on Twitter about a care home which has installed touch-screen computers. For me, it’s an obvious step to take but its’ a shame it had to be provided by a grant and not by the provider service themselves – seeing how much they charge for placements!

I wonder how much these private companies are subsidised by these types of grants…

Still, it is good to see some different ideas about ‘activities’ in care homes and a challenge to the assumption that older people just want to sit around and sing ‘Knees Up Mother Brown’.

2 thoughts on “Rankings and Musings

  1. I totally agree, as a support worker in a Residential unit it really bothers me that the activities we provide are meant to involve those from 22-75! However talk of more indivualised activities on a one to one basis is met with the same response…..not enough staff! Leaving people with mental health problems more time on thier hands to sit and think and be bored!

  2. Thanks for the craft in care homes link Fighting Monsters. I’d love to see more attention given to the types of activities people in care homes can enjoy. Sadly it seems that the ever increasing cost pressures means this is an area that too often gets overlooked.

Comments are closed.