There and Back Again


I didn’t think I’d come back again but I’m pondering it now. I have a new job and a new role.  While I’m still a registered social worker, I’m no longer working in the local authority and am no longer a practising AMHP. It’s been quite a journey over the past two years.

While I’m pondering a return here, I have a low-key project I’ve just started running here.  Feel free to join me and.. well.. watch this space.

Thanks again for all the support and patience. It’s meant and means a lot to me.

11 thoughts on “There and Back Again

  1. Good to see you back on the block, as an old RNM trained as an asylum attendant 3 mental health acts ago . . . & to whom social workers were a natural predator / food source (sense of humor needed) your writing was incitful challenging and has been much missed regards & blessings

  2. Hello, great to have you back, I followed your blog as a student SW and I’m now finishing my NQSW (ASYE) in a stat child protection role. It’s been a steep learning curve but I’m still enjoying most of my job (not the bureaucratic stuff!) Having your commentary around will be a great motivator once again!

  3. Welcome back.
    How are you getting on with the College of Social Work? I ask because I left BASW around the same time as you, for what seem to be similar reasons. I got an amazingly snotty personal response from Hilton Dawson – which rather took me aback and didn’t encourage me to re-consider … However, after an initial burst of feeling engaged, enthused and involved by the College I’m now also pretty uninspired by it. In part that may be because I’ve moved from an LA practice education role back into practice. I look religiously at the website and it doesn’t engage me at a level that feels relevant, or possible. Disappointing.

    • Hi
      So sorry I took so long to respond. Ah, my BASW posts weren’t very popular with BASW leadership. It didn’t end well. I’m not remotely surprised about the response you received. They became an irrelevance and I don’t have any desire to give them my money.
      As for the College – I’ve not been gripped. I’m a member. I wait and see. We need something to move things on but I’d like more challenge. I’d really like more of a user-led (user being social workers) organisation rather than an organisation of social care management.

  4. Oh welcome back – you cannot realise how overjoyed I am!

    Will you be running here or your other ‘here’ – need to know so I can add you to bloglist!

    A very happy Anna :o]

  5. I think I’m going to use the other site just for reflecting on journal articles and policy documents and this for more random/general stuff but i won’t be posting as frequently as I did before and thank you 🙂

  6. Hey so glad to see you’re making a return to the blogging world- I have really missed your thoughts, observations and insights. I’m really excited by your other project too- sounds great and I look forward to being able to participate.

Comments are closed.